Victorian Disability Awards

Victorian Disability Awards, celebrating excellence in practice

Disability Sector Awards, celebrating excellence in practice

The Victorian Disability Awards recognise people and organisations who make outstanding contributions to empowering people with a disability and creating an inclusive community.

The awards celebrate excellence and acknowledge the achievements of individuals, teams and organisations who work with vision and commitment to support people with a disability achieve their goals and aspirations.

The awards are a joint initiative between National Disability Services and the Department of Health and Human Services.

This year’s award ceremony took place on 15 June at Federation Square, Melbourne. The 2016 Victorian Disability Award recipients are:

Excellence in Advocacy and Promotion of Human Rights Award


Winner - Maureen Hewitt

Highly commended - Christine Stow - City of Whittlesea

Highly commended - Wayne Gould


Winner - Women with Disabilities Victoria’s programs to increase equality for women with disabilities

Highly commended - reThink disAbility community campaign

Excellence in Social and Cultural Access Award


Winner - Nga Do - Extended Families Australia

Highly commended - Leanne Wishart, Wellington Shire Council

Highly commended - Sharon Bromley, ArtGusto


Winner - Macmeikan Street, Whittlesea, Life Without Barriers

Highly commended - Writers Victoria

Excellence in Accessible Communications and Technology Award


Winner - Maureen D’Arcy, City of Whitehorse


Winner - Metro Trains Stop Here App

Highly commended - MS Connect, Connecting by Webinar

Excellence in Employment Outcomes Award


Winner - Phillip Evans - Murray Human Services


Winner - Australian Community Logistics

Highly commended - Frankston Mornington Career Access Program

Volunteer Award


Winner - Tracey Clarke, Foundation 97

Highly commended - Julian Fleckner, People Outdoors

Highly commended - Alyse Cahill, Interchange Outer East

Highly commended - Cyril Thomas, healthAbility


Winner - AQA Spire SCI Peer-support volunteers

Emerging Leader Award

Winner - Shannon Fischer, Yooralla

Highly commended - Katrina Gevaux, YMCA

Lifetime Achievement Honour Roll

Susan Plant (posthumous)

Margaret Behan

Boris Struk

Anne McCormick

Dr Barbara Solarsh

Anne Page

Daryl Starkey


Watch these videos to learn more about some of the award recipients:

Celebrating excellence - 2016 Victorian Disability Award winners

Lifetime Achievement Honour Roll

For more information about award categories and criteria, read the word document attached below - Victorian Disability Awards - award categories and criteria.

Previous winners of the Victorian Disability Awards

You can find out more about previous award winners on this website by visiting the page below: Previous winners of the Victorian Disability Awards.

More information

Award Secretariat
Phone: 03 9096 8057

Related information and resources

Contact information

Awards Secretariat
Telephone: (03) 9096 8057

Request more information about this topic.

For more information:

Contact us.

Service Directory

Search the site