Child protection contact numbers

These numbers are effective from 30 May 2016

After hours number 13 12 78

During business hours

During business hours ring the number covering the local government area (LGA) where the child lives. If you know the suburb or postcode, you can find the LGA on the Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning website.

North Division Intake number 1300 664 977

North Division now has one child protection intake located at DHHS Preston covering the following areas and LGAs:

Banyue, Buloke, Darebin, Campaspe, Central Goldfield, Gannawarra, Greater Bendigo, Hume, Loddon, Macedon Ranges, Mildura, Moreland, Mount Alexander, Nillumbik, Swan Hill, Whittlesea, Yarra.


South Division Intake number 1300 655 795

South Division now has one child protection intake located at DHHS Dandenong and covers the following areas and LGAs:

Bass Coast, Baw Baw, Bayside, Cardinia, Casey, East Gippsland, Frankston, Glen Eira, Greater Dandenong, Kingston, Latrobe, Mornington Peninsula, Port Phillip, South Gippsland, Stonnington, Wellington.


East Division Intake number 1300 360 391

East Division now has one child protection intake located at DHHS Box Hill covering the following areas and LGAs:

Alpine, Benalla, Boroondara, Greater Shepparton, Indigo, Knox, Manningham, Mansfield, Maroondah, Mitchell, Moira, Monash, Murrindindi, Strathbogie, Towong, Wangaratta, Whitehorse, Wodonga, Yarra Ranges.


West Division Intake - Rural and regional only - number 1800 075 599

West Division has one child protection intake located at DHHS Geelong covering the following rural and regional areas and LGAs:

Ararat, Ballarat, Colac-Otway, Corangamite, Glenelg, Golden Plains, Greater Geelong, Hepburn, Hindmarsh, Horsham, Moorabool, Moyne, Northern Grampians, Pyrenees, Queenscliffe, Southern Grampians, Surf Coast, Warrnambool West Wimmera, Yarriambiack.


West Division Intake - metropolitan only - number 1300 664 977

West Division Metro area reports are managed by North Division Intake located at DHHS Preston for the following areas and LGAs:

Brimbank, Hobsons Bay, Maribyrnong, Melbourne, Melton, Moonee Valley, Wyndham.


Interstate contact numbers

  • Australian Capital Territory (ACT) - 1300 556 729
  • New South Wales (NSW) - 13 21 11
  • Northern Territory (NT) - 1800 700 250
  • Queensland (QLD) - (07) 3235 9999
  • South Australia (SA) - 13 14 78
  • Tasmania (TAS) - 1800 001 219
  • Western Australia (WA) - (08) 9325 1111


Contact Information

National Relay Service
Tel: 1800 555 660

Request more information about this topic.

For more information:

Contact us.

Service Directory

Search the site