Victorian Premier's Volunteer Champions Awards


Premier's Volunteer Champions Awards logoThe broad array of volunteering that takes place in Victoria is inspiring and the Awards recognise Victorians who give their time and skills to better the lives of others and their community.

Congratulations to the 2016 recipients

To highlight the significant number of volunteers, and the variety and impact of volunteering effort across the State, 60 volunteers have been formally recognised for their outstanding achievements across five categories.

The Premier’s Volunteer of the Year, Dame Elisabeth Murdoch Award has been selected from all Award recipients, and this year the selection task was so difficult, two were chosen for their outstanding contribution!

The Premier’s Volunteer of the Year, Dame Elisabeth Murdoch Award

  • Bruce Penicott
  • Celia Tran

Change maker

  • Jenna Kelley
  • Bruce Penicott
  • Jenny Kerr


  • Anne Dempster
  • Barbara Currie
  • Colleen Grima
  • Diane Lang
  • Marian Lowe
  • Michael Weiser
  • Rosie Baker


  • Celia Tran
  • Faye Bendrups
  • Judith Cox
  • Linny Phuong
  • Luke Spielvogel
  • Mohamed Mohideen OAM
  • Rufina Chan


  • Adrienne Hardy
  • Anastasios (Tasos) Bardakos
  • Bruce Heider
  • David Luffman
  • Elaine Tisher
  • Farah Warsame
  • Frank Webber
  • Heather Boyle
  • Ian Phillips
  • Jean Bowes
  • Jefferson Hoober
  • Joan Selby
  • Mervyn Goodall
  • Moira Ryde
  • Noela Macleod
  • Robert Caulfield
  • Shirley Robinson
  • Susanne Archbold
  • Teresa Schipano


  • Emergency Relief Service, Darebin Information Volunteer Resource Service
  • 65k for Cystic Fibrosis
  • Port Fairy Folk Festival Committee

Highly commended

The selection panel was given a difficult choice and the significant contributions of the following volunteers is highly commended.

  • Beverley Byron, Service
  • Charles (Chas) Martin, Service
  • Daniel Missen, Impact
  • Deepak Vinayak, Leadership
  • Elaine Smith, Service
  • Frank Cutuli, Change Maker
  • Josephine Guichard, Service
  • Lois Carter Service
  • Marley McNamara, Service
  • Mary McLure, Service
  • Megan Kennedy, Impact
  • Moniquea Spiteri, Change Maker
  • Pauline Ellerby, Service
  • Penelope Montgomery, Service
  • Rachel Honeychurch, Change Maker
  • Rikki Andrews, Leadership
  • Robyn Anderson, Service
  • Roy Francis, Impact
  • Tracey Clarke, Leadership
  • Trevor Wulf, Service
  • Vernon Fettke, Service

More information

For more information on the Victorian Premier’s Volunteer Champions Awards, please contact:

Phone: 03 9096 1183

2015 recipients

Fifty one outstanding Victorian volunteers were invited to Government House on 29 November 2015 and were formally recognised for their amazing contributions.

To see the full list of Award recipients download the Volunteer Champions Showcase. The Showcase also commemorates all of 2015’s nominees and highly commended shortlist.


Request more information about this topic.

For more information:

Contact us.