Skip to content
Victorian Government Website (Victoria, the Place to Be)
Department of Human Services, Victoria, Australia
Victorian Bushfire Appeal Fund

Victorian Bushfire Appeal Fund

Fund Advisory Panel

Victorian Bushfire Appeal Fund Advisory Panel Members

The Victorian Bushfire Appeal Fund Advisory Panel has been established to oversee the fund. Members are:

  • The Hon Pat McNamara (Chair)
  • The Hon Robert Tickner (Chief Executive of Australian Red Cross and former Commonwealth Minister)
  • Christine Nixon, APM (Government volunteer advisor on Bushfire recovery
  • Pam White (ex officio Department of Human Services)

Panel Members volunteer their time.

Hon Pat J McNamara

Pat McNamara is a former Deputy Premier who served as a Member of the Victorian Parliament from 1982 to 2000, with portfolios including Minister for Police and Emergency Services, Minister for Corrections, Minister for Tourism and the Grand Prix, Minister for Agriculture and Resources.

Pat began farming in 1970 and has since worked in real estate and wine production, as well as local government. 

He has a Diploma of Business Studies from RMIT and is a licensed Real Estate Agent and Auctioneer. He and his wife run a vineyard, orchard and cropping property at Nagambie. He serves on the boards of several companies, giving strategic advice to public and private companies.

For the past nine years Pat has been President of Rowing Australia and is a Trustee of the MCG.

Hon Robert Tickner

Robert Tickner is the chief executive officer of Australian Red Cross.

He served as Federal Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs from 1990 to 1996, and is Australias longest serving Minister for this portfolio. Before being elected to the Federal Parliament, he was a lecturer in the Faculty of Law at the Institute of Technology and the Faculty of Business Studies. He later served as Principal Solicitor to the NSW Aboriginal Legal Service and as councillor on the Sydney City Council. 

He holds Bachelor of Laws, Master of Laws (Hons) and Bachelor of Economics degrees and has undertaken the first stage of an Executive MBA. 

Christine Nixon, APM

Christine Nixon is the Government volunteer advisor on Bushfire Recovery.

She was formerly the Head of the new Victorian Bushfire Reconstruction and Recovery Authority, and former Chief Commissioner of Victoria Police. 

She was Victoria's 19th Chief Commissioner from 2001 to 2009 and the first woman to lead a police force in Australia. She had an extensive career in the New South Wales police force 30 years prior to that.

Christine studied politics at Macquarie University and attended Sydney University (Dip.Lab.Law.) and Harvard University (MPA). She also has a Honorary Doctorate of Letters from Wollongong University. 

New Panel Arrangements

From September 2010 governance arrangements of the Fund were streamlined with a new four member Panel focusing on overseeing the implementation of committed funds.

Professor Glyn Davis AC, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Melbourne, Lyn Gunter, former Mayor of Murrindindi Shire Council and Kerry Murphy, Chairman of the Country Fire Authority, were members of the full Panel until September 2010.

The former Governor of Victoria, John Landy AC CVO MBE, was a member and founding Chair of the Panel until September 2009.

Pam White remains on the Panel is her capacity as ex-officio Department of Human Services (DHS). Ms White is the Executive Director Service Delivery and Performance and is responsible for the administration of emergency recovery at DHS.